2023 LEPC Meeting Schedule

The Miami County Local Emergency Planning Committee announces the following meeting dates for the calendar year 2023:

Thursday, March 2nd
Thursday, June 1st
Thursday, September 7th
Thursday, December 7th

Meetings are open to the public and will occur at 4:00 P.M. in Conference Room 225 at the Hobart Center for County Government Building located at 510 West Water Street, Troy, Ohio. 


In 1986, following a chemical accident in Bhopal, India that killed and injured thousands of people, and less catastrophic incidents elsewhere, it was reinforced that major chemical disasters could happen in the United States. To plan for such possible occurrences, the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act (EPCRA) was passed as Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA) on October 17, 1986.

EPCRA provides for comprehensive chemical emergency preparedness and response. Coordinated efforts of many groups are needed to achieve this readiness. Congress placed the United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) in oversight of the EPCRA program under SARA. The USEPA has built upon the State Emergency Response Commission and Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) relationship in the Chemical Emergency Preparedness Program (CEPP) aimed at helping industries and communities meet their responsibilities related to potential chemical emergencies.

Emergency Planning was created as Chapter 3750 of the Ohio Revised Code (ORC) in December 1988. Ohio's implementing regulations can be found as Chapter 3750 of the Ohio Administrative Code (OAC). Chapter 3750 of the ORC, which basically parallels EPCRA, outlines the composition, jurisdiction, and responsibilities of reporting. These are: Extremely Hazardous Substance (EHS) and Emergency Planning, Emergency Spill/Release Notifications, Chemical List and Annual Reporting, and Toxic Chemical Release Reporting.

The LEPC has representatives from numerous organizations, including elected officials, law enforcement, firefighting, first aid, hospital, public health, local environmental, transportation, news media, emergency management, community groups, owners/operators of subject facilities, educational, hazardous materials, and communications. The members are appointed by the State Emergency Response Commission to two-year terms on the LEPC, and meet quarterly to address and achieve the requirements of ORC 3750.